Review of Nicki Minaj’s album Pink Friday 2: a product of high-quality rap music that is devoid of emotion


For Nicki Minaj, Pink Friday 2 is a step in the right direction, but unfortunately. In this version, the rapper, who is known for his quick wit, rapid-talking, and audaciously dressed appearance, is accompanied by the typical assortment of famous samples and well-known guests.

A great hit single, “Super Freaky Girl,” which topped the charts in 2022, is included in this collection. In this song, the New Yorker provides advice on how to improve her skills while posing as one of her numerous personalities.

The color pattern that is most prevalent is that of celebrations for hens and blushing. On the other hand, given Nicki’s customary demeanor, it’s a bit of a yawn.

This album, which was released on her 41st birthday, is being marketed as a sequel to her debut album, Pink Friday, which was released in 2010. It begins with the song “Are You Gone Already,” which is a surprise about the passing of Minaj’s father in 2021, which occurred as a result of a hit-and-run accident.

The music is more of a remix of the piano ballad “When the Party’s Over” by Billie Eilish than it is a straightforward sampling of the song. While Minaj raps about experiencing sadness, Eilish’s vocal is adjusted in pitch to give her a tone that is reminiscent of a toddler.

Although it is a cutesy song, the song’s intention is quite serious. The real Nicki, hiding behind the comical persona, is revealed here.

Pink Friday 2 Album Songs (2023)

  1. Just the Memories
  2. Big Difference
  3. Red Ruby da Sleeze
  4. My Life
  5. RNB
  6. Fallin 4 U
  7. Everybody
  8. Last Time I Saw You
  9. Bahm Bahm
  10. Super Freaky Girl

The final track of the album is where we come face to face with this unfiltered persona once more. Minaj’s “Just the Memories” is a more impressive single, in which she provides a retrospective analysis of her career as if she were getting ready to retire.

The usage of the past tense in her rapping is very telling. She raps, “Greatest female rapper that ever lived.” She first declared her intention to retire in 2019, however she later changed her mind.

It would appear that Pink Friday 2 completes a circle by returning to the album that was her blockbuster debut. On the other hand, it is ruined by its muddy tone, which is an indication of doubt.

Nicki Minaj's album Pink Friday 2

Nicki is a sexually charismatic entertainer who dominates female competitors with cutting displays of wit and talent. She makes frequent appearances as the old Nicki. Minaj’s rapping is of a very high quality, and she can change her tempo and accent as easily as she can spin on a dime. But it doesn’t appear that she has any interest in it.

The titles of the tracks are generated automatically, and some examples are “Beep Beep” and “Bahm Bahm.” Beats are regular, the same way that mixtape leftovers are. Nick James, a pun that is looking for a punchline, is introduced to us in the song “Super Freaky Girl,” which draws inspiration from Rick James. Nick James is a flimsy new alter ego.

Read More-The Smashing Machine, an upcoming film starring Dwayne “The Rock” Johnson, will feature Mark Kerr, an MMA fighter

There is no chemistry between Drake and Lil Wayne, who are two of the guests that are making appearances. There is also a cut-and-paste element to the samples, such as the sped-up chorus from Blondie’s “Heart of Glass” being inserted into “My Life” as if it were an afterthought.

Even if Minaj’s albums aren’t exactly models of consistency, they’ve never been as long as this one, which clocks in at seventy minutes.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here